Fisker Ocean Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I'm a newbie to the EV market, I was surprised to recently learn that any tax incentive on eligible EVs is a tax "credit" against liabilities, and can only be used to reduce your tax liability to zero. With this said, if I am considering an outright purchase of the Ocean and taking advantage of the Federal $7,500 credit then it appears I need to change my current tax deductions, which usually cover my liabilities within a +/- $1,000, so that I increase my FY 2023 tax liability in order to take advantage of the full amount of the credit. Besides changing my deductions are there any other ways, besides the obvious of earning more money, that would increase my current tax liability at the end of next year, or does anyone know of an online tool to help?

Also, am I correct in assuming if I decide to lease the Ocean, then Fisker will receive the tax credit, but they are not legally obligated to pass this savings on to the lease by way of a reduction in lease price?

·
Registered
107 Posts
In order to get full credit you need 7500 in tax liability. And if doing the flexee lease the bank gets the credit. However I thought I read cool years ago if using flexee lease they will apply the 7500 to cost of car or lease so no need to put in the 3k initiation fee.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
More to this point...
IRS does not issue a refund/check for a EV tax credit.